Quickly assess your level of Dutch

Our Dutch test will give you an initial idea of your level in just 25 questions. The result is based on the CEFR (Common European Framework of Reference for Languages) classification for easy interpretation.

More information on the different CEFR levels? Consult our table

Dutch language test

    Personal information

    More information on the“Language levels” page

    Level 1 (A0): Beginner
    You can speak and understand the language to a very limited extent, if at all.

    Level 2 (A1): Elementary
    You can understand the language in basic everyday situations if your interlocutor speaks slowly and clearly. You can understand and use simple expressions. Improve your listening skills and vocabulary.

    Level 3 (A2): Pre-intermediate
    You can communicate and make yourself understood with simple messages in certain everyday contexts. Develop your grammar, vocabulary and speaking skills.

    Level 4 (B1) : Intermediate
    You can speak the language comprehensibly, coherently and confidently on familiar everyday topics. Improve your grammar skills and expand your vocabulary.

    Level 5 (B2): Upper intermediate
    You can use the language effectively and express yourself precisely. Develop your oral fluency by discussing, debating and expressing your opinion in greater depth. Refine your use of grammar and vocabulary.

    Level 6 (C1) : Advanced
    You can speak the language in a more complex way, spontaneously and on a variety of subjects. Extend your range of vocabulary and refine your style to become more fluent.

    Level 7 (C2): Proficient/Current
    You can use the language with ease and fluency when arguing complex subjects. Improve your understanding of the nuances of the language and engage in independent reading to perfect your vocabulary.